HOWDY! - LP + 7"

HOWDY! - LP + 7

HOWDY! - LP + 7"

£20.00 GBP

HOWDY! - LP + 7" is unavailable

Leave your email address if you would like to be notified when it becomes available.

Each album has been remastered from the original tapes at Abbey Road Studios, London under the guidance of the band, and will be packaged in a faithful re-production of the original vinyl artwork. Each LP will be pressed on 180gsm black vinyl.

The band have selected rarities, favourites and tracks previously unavailable on vinyl to include on a 7” with each album. These 7” singles will each feature two tracks and will only be available with the initial pressing of each album.

Original Release Date: 2000

Singles: I Need Direction, Dumb Dumb Dumb

Recorded at Dave Gilmour’s Astoria studio on the river Thames and the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales, Howdy! was produced by the band themselves. The band were officially a five piece in the studio for the first time with keyboardist Finlay Macdonald adding an extra dimension to their trademark sound. Tracks like Dumb Dumb Dumb which Blake cites as one of his favouites (“I like the song just because of how it’s structured. It has an offset drumbeat.”), My Uptight Life and Near You make Howdy! a quintessentially Teenage Fanclub album made as their long-standing label Creation was being incorporated into major label Sony. It remains a charming album where the three-part harmonies and impeccably arranged songs create a positive, uplifting record.

“an exemplary lesson to anyone on how to stay relevant without jumping on whatever bandwagon is deemed fashionable”
- The Independent, 2000

“underlines their reputation as the leading quirky songwriters of their era.”
- The Observer, 2000

“another finely crafted release in the band's oeuvre. Teenage Fanclub proves its songwriting muscle is among the finest in modern music”
- CMJ, 2002

Release Date: 10th August 2018

The Album

Side A.

1. I Need Direction
2. I Can’t Find My Way Home
3. Accidental Life
4. Near You
5. Happiness
6. Dumb Dumb Dumb

Side B.

1. The Town And The City
2. The Sunshines From You
3. Straight & Narrow
4. Cul De Sac
5. My Uptight Life
6. If I Never See You Again

Bonus 7” Single

A. Thaw Me - B-side from Dumb Dumb Dumb and appears on vinyl for the first time
B. One Thousand Lights - B-side from Dumb Dumb Dumb and appears on vinyl for the first time

Read More